Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Training question, need advice

3 posters

Go down

Training question, need advice Empty Training question, need advice

Post by LRS Guy Sat Jul 07, 2018 10:27 am

Gents,

I'm pretty new at Bullseye shooting, most my pistol competition has been IDPA/3-gun. Most if not all my training I have had has been oriented toward winning that gunfight. I have been lucky to have had some great instruction there. I like to focus on the fundimentals. I'm currently working in an asture enviorment, so I don't have access to my 22 or 45.

I do have access to a flat range over 100 yards long, I'm carrying a Glock 17 and have lots of 9mm. I have been practicing shooting 25 yds one handed and trying get a feel for this. Working on grip, trigger squeeze and sight alignment. Is there any drills or specfic things that you experianced shooters would recommend I train on or do?????

Any thoughts are appreciated.

LRS Guy

Back to top Go down

Training question, need advice Empty Re: Training question, need advice

Post by Sa-tevp Sat Jul 07, 2018 11:07 am

For a quick start try the beginning exercises in the Marine Corps workbook that can be downloaded here: USMC Pistol Team Workbook

There is no need to print the entire workbook so I would recommend just one section, such as 22. Another version of the book is available at Distinguished Precision Shooting Sports and has better descriptions of the exercises and expected results. (I suspect the original version was brief as the student was expected to have a coach nearby)