Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Oh Crap...To get the trigger I want in the gun I want...

4 posters

Go down

Oh Crap...To get the trigger I want in the gun I want... Empty Oh Crap...To get the trigger I want in the gun I want...

Post by Rob Kovach Sat Sep 01, 2012 3:12 pm

I have an old custom 1911 (70's vintage) that has an awesome long, like a mile long roll trigger. It's too worn out to use as a .45 and doesn't work with my marvel at all.

I spent all day switching the hammer, sear and disconnect into my match gun....The roll is gone, now it's crispish. Function is iffy, the pull doesn't feel consitent...the thumb safety doesn't work at all. UGH!! Time to put everything back...

It's weird how some parts don't work from one gun to another. I'm just learning about the basics of 1911 assembly and parts interchange. I'm not really looking for advice...more venting. Maybe share a similar story?
Rob Kovach
Rob Kovach
Admin

Back to top Go down

Oh Crap...To get the trigger I want in the gun I want... Empty Re: Oh Crap...To get the trigger I want in the gun I want...

Post by Larry Lang Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:41 pm

Eli Whitney is credited with the manufacturing process that allowed complete rifles to be assembled from boxes full of partses.

It took match gun smiths to overcome that superstition.
Larry Lang
Larry Lang

Back to top Go down

Oh Crap...To get the trigger I want in the gun I want... Empty Re: Oh Crap...To get the trigger I want in the gun I want...

Post by Rob Kovach Sat Sep 01, 2012 8:02 pm

The reason it took all day was because I was trying every combination possible to get a slightly different outcome, but never a good one, then switching everything back to the way it was....

Good one Larry...if this was like facebook I would have clicked "like"
Rob Kovach
Rob Kovach
Admin

Back to top Go down

Post by Founder Sat Sep 01, 2012 8:59 pm