Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New guy here; how often do you clean your service pistol/22?

+4
oldsalt444
Wobbley
Tim:H11
Michael C
8 posters

Go down

New guy here; how often do you clean your service pistol/22?  Empty New guy here; how often do you clean your service pistol/22?

Post by Michael C Wed Nov 28, 2018 10:10 am

I am new to service pistol and bullseye shooting. Been shooting service rifle and Palma for many years. I learned to stop cleaning my rifles after every use as the US Army taught me as I learned from the accomplished shooters to wait until the rifle stopped shooting well. Or abut every 400 rounds or so. When do I clean my service pistol and my S&W 41? Mike

Michael C

Back to top Go down

New guy here; how often do you clean your service pistol/22?  Empty Re: New guy here; how often do you clean your service pistol/22?

Post by Tim:H11 Wed Nov 28, 2018 10:37 am

I reload for 45 ACP (my choice of service pistol caliber) and use Bullseye powder which shoots well but is very dirty. I clean when I notice a large build up on the feed ramp or when the hood keep coming back all fouled up. I don’t clean often. But I noticed an amount of fouling that starts to become risky for feed issues so I try to clean it then. It’s not a round count. I don’t count rounds. It’s more of a feeling for me and keeping an eye on the guns condition. 400/500 rounds ought to do it if your counting I would guess. 

22 I clean when it jams or two weeks or so prior to a match. I’m cleaning my 22 tonight for the up coming Talladega 600 but I’ll be running Ammo through it again for fouling reasons and double check it’s still zeroed and such. 

Big thing is to not over do it. Guns go through wear and tear on disassembly and reassembly if you’re not careful.

Back to top Go down