Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Considering this sport, any advice?

+9
BE Mike
willnewton
Dave Glenn
SonOfAGun
cdrt
Paul M.
gregbenner
SteveT
robvasi
13 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Considering this sport, any advice? Empty Considering this sport, any advice?

Post by robvasi 1/6/2019, 7:50 pm

I have no experience in competition shooting.  I have no delusions of being a superior pistol shooter.  My goal is to participate in the Hunstman Games held in southern Utah. The Games are in October. By then I want to be able to hit the black with 75% of the shots fired and hit the bullseye with 15%.

I shot at a local range and I can hit the paper at 25 yards, sometimes in the black.  I use a Ruger Mark IV.  I ordered the Volquartsen PISTOL COMPETITION KIT FOR MK IV. I am considering the Volquartsen upper assembly, including their bolt.

I am also considering the Hi-Viz front sight.

To reach my objective will require practice, and money for range fees, ammunition, and pistol modifications. I'd like to present some questions with the realization and there is no specific answer to these questions because you have not seem me shoot. I shoot right handed and seem to be left eye dominate.

I wear progressive glasses.  The achievement of the proper sight picture is near to impossible.  I read an article written by a doctor of Optometry who is also a shooter.  His solution is to have new glasses made with the lens for the dominate eye focused for near vision, at the distance from the eye to the front sight.  The other lens is focused for far vision. 

1. Is my goal realistic in the time frame I have allocated? 
2. What is your opinion on the Volquartsen upper?
3. 4.5" barrel or 6" barrel? (If I choose the Volquartsen barrel)