Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Reload consistency

5 posters

Go down

Reload consistency Empty Reload consistency

Post by togfish 11/17/2012, 6:34 pm

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to the .45 bullseye game. Been shooting a few matches for a few months now. I'm using a Colt 70 series that has had some accurizing work done by one of the better known .45 pistolsmiths. I'm reloading 4.0g of Bullseye with Zero 185g hpswc bullets. I am using a Lee Turret Press. My shots rarely go to call. Groups are in the 6 to 8" catagory at 25 yds. Can this press with the sliding disc powder measure be the culprit? My OAL's can vary about a thousanth or two either way also. I hope it's the ammo. May be getting a Dillon 550 for Xmas. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Bob
togfish
togfish

Back to top Go down

Reload consistency Empty Re: Reload consistency

Post by Steve B 11/17/2012, 7:32 pm

6-8" from your hand standing?

Steve B

Back to top Go down

Post by togfish 11/17/2012, 7:36 pm

Yes.
togfish
togfish

Back to top Go down

Post by Rob Kovach 11/17/2012, 9:26 pm

How does the gun shoot with other ammo?

If you were having vertical stringing, I'd say MAYBE it was the powder drop.

What are you crimping them to? I only get iffy ammo performance if I haven't crimped enough. I do .468" ish.
Rob Kovach
Rob Kovach
Admin

Back to top Go down

Post by Steve B 11/17/2012, 10:37 pm

Try shooting off a rest and see how it does.

Steve B

Back to top Go down

Post by noylj 11/17/2012, 11:27 pm

Charge weight variations only show up, in my experience, out beyond 50 yards, and my Lee Pro Auto-Disks throw powder at least as well as my Dillon and Hornady measures.
If you are concerned, get an RCBS ChargeMaster.