Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

High Standard Advice

+3
DavidR
robert84010
jmdavis
7 posters

Go down

High Standard Advice Empty High Standard Advice

Post by jmdavis 12/4/2014, 10:12 am

I started playing around with Bullseye back in 2012. Mainly I wanted to shoot pistol at the Atlantic Fleet Matches and a retired Navy Friend handed me his hardball pistol and gunbox and said get to it. Soon after I picked up a High Standard Victor (Hamden) in immaculate shape for a .22 and a week later, stumbled across a Benelli MP95 with 4 mags, 2 sets of grips, ultra dot, and case. I was also working on Service Rifle at the time (I still am) so, Bullseye took second place (more like ignored place except for Fleet Matches). When I did practice, I used the MP95 and the High Standard sat lonely in the safe.

Back in August, I realized that I was getting burnt out on Service Rifle and found that two retired Bullseye shooters were doing coached practice sessions 2x per month 60 miles away. I started shooting these sessions and soon they added a 900 agg match 2x per month as well. All of this is with the .22 and I had been using the MP95. By this point the High Standard was in the gun box to offer as a loaner or use as a backup. Last night it went into backup duty when the MP95 got to the point that it was jamming 1 per mag (dirty chamber and I had no brush).