How would you.....

View previous topic View next topic Go down

How would you.....

Post by Ghillieman on 3/29/2015, 9:27 am

Here is the scenario:

A shooter has pistol trouble during the rapid fire match.

He fires 2 shots during the first string, and gets an alibi. He then only gets 1 shot off during the second string. He fires his alibi relay and gets all 5 shots off. He fired a total of 8 shots.

The line is safe and you go down range to score his target.

You count 8 holes, five 10's and three 9's

How do you score his target?
avatar
Ghillieman

Posts : 361
Join date : 2012-02-14
Location : TEXAS

Back to top Go down

Re: How would you.....

Post by LenV on 3/29/2015, 9:49 am

57. gotta take away the 2 best hits.
avatar
LenV

Posts : 2463
Join date : 2014-01-24
Age : 67
Location : Best state in USA

Back to top Go down

Re: How would you.....

Post by dronning on 3/29/2015, 10:07 am

OldMaster65 wrote:57. gotta take away the 2 best hits.

+1
avatar
dronning

Posts : 1346
Join date : 2013-03-20
Age : 63
Location : Lakeville, MN

Back to top Go down

Re: How would you.....

Post by C.Perkins on 3/29/2015, 10:13 am

Score the lowest six shots plus four misses.
10-10-10-9-9-9-M-M-M-M

Clarence
avatar
C.Perkins

Posts : 712
Join date : 2011-06-13
Age : 54
Location : Surrounded by pines in Wi.

Back to top Go down

Re: How would you.....

Post by Ghillieman on 3/29/2015, 10:23 am

So the shooter would loose the highest two shots. The two shots that he fired during the string of fire in which he received his alibi.

Is that correct?
avatar
Ghillieman

Posts : 361
Join date : 2012-02-14
Location : TEXAS

Back to top Go down

Re: How would you.....

Post by LenV on 3/29/2015, 10:39 am

Doesn't matter which string he shot them in. The way it would be scored breaking it down. The shooter fired a possible 12 shots. 2 in the first string 5 possible in the second string and 5 possible in the alibi string. You score the lowest 10 shots. Knowing that he failed to get off 4 shots in the second string he would be scored 0 for those 4. The next 6 lowest shots would be the remainder of the lowest 10. So  0 0 0 0 9 9 9 10 10 10 total 57. You always score the lowest 10. Unfired or misses count as 0. Hope that cleared it up.

Len
avatar
LenV

Posts : 2463
Join date : 2014-01-24
Age : 67
Location : Best state in USA

Back to top Go down

Re: How would you.....

Post by dronning on 3/29/2015, 11:35 am

OldMaster65 wrote:... You always score the lowest 10. Unfired or misses count as 0. Hope that cleared it up.
Len
+1
I'd add that you must first know the number of shots that should be on the target, in this case 12, anything missing is scored a M. Score your M's first.

- Dave


Last edited by dronning on 3/29/2015, 3:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
avatar
dronning

Posts : 1346
Join date : 2013-03-20
Age : 63
Location : Lakeville, MN

Back to top Go down

Re: How would you.....

Post by ric1911a1 on 3/29/2015, 2:56 pm

Len has it correct.
avatar
ric1911a1

Posts : 131
Join date : 2013-05-07
Location : Upstate NY

Back to top Go down

Re: How would you.....

Post by TexasShooter on 3/29/2015, 6:27 pm

Recently had this same conversation while at the range with someone even newer than me...the way I explained it ends up in the same place as Len:

Two shots off on the first string, then two strings of five shots. So we start with the idea that it doesn't matter how many shots he actually got off in the two full strings or how many were misses, he should have 12 rounds on target.

We went ahead and pasted over the two best shots to account for the extras. Score what is left as a normal target that should have 10 shots.

So some of y'all tell me - is it kosher to paste over the extra shots that way or does that break one of the many rules that I have a hard time remembering? Pasting over the extras does make it easier to organize in my head...

Clay

TexasShooter

Posts : 74
Join date : 2014-01-26
Age : 58
Location : Midland, TX

Back to top Go down

Re: How would you.....

Post by Colt711 on 3/29/2015, 7:11 pm

The target should be scored as shot. If the shooter enters a protest the referee/jury scores the unaltered target.

Ron Habegger


Last edited by Colt711 on 3/29/2015, 9:33 pm; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : 3/29 spelling)

Colt711

Posts : 410
Join date : 2012-06-07
Age : 75
Location : Hudson, Florida

Back to top Go down

Re: How would you.....

Post by TexasShooter on 3/29/2015, 7:30 pm

Colt711 wrote:The target should be scored as shot. If the shooter enters a protest the referee/jury scores the umaltered target.

Ron Habegger


Now that I see that I do vaguely remember reading it somewhere. Ok, no more pasting the extras except in my imagination...thanks!

Clay

TexasShooter

Posts : 74
Join date : 2014-01-26
Age : 58
Location : Midland, TX

Back to top Go down

Re: How would you.....

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum