Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

RO work, am I going to far?

+12
Bigtrout
BE Mike
knightimac
Keyholed
JayhawkNavy02
Rob Kovach
orpheoet
kwixdraw
STEVE SAMELAK
james r chapman
Astroimage2002
lablover
16 posters

Go down

RO work, am I going to far? Empty RO work, am I going to far?

Post by lablover Sun Aug 16 2015, 20:52

You all know I'm a serious newbie at Bullseye.  Just picked up a Springfield RO and sent off an email to Dave Salyer to see about some work.

I got an email back and he proposed the following

Trigger Job
Rail for UltraDot
1" Ultradot
Rings
New kart barrel and bushing
Misc small parts

800.00 ish for the whole works.

I have no idea what this pistol is now capable of shooting.  Being so new I don't think I could shoot it at 50 yards and hope to even know how well it does.  I'd like to have this work done eventually and am wondering if  should just do it now and bit the bullet, Or do I have maybe just the dot put on and start shooting the pistol the way it is and see how I do.

Looking for some New to all this advice.  That 800 bucks or part of it could go a long way for bullets and other gear...

Or, forget the 2nd pistol and get the work done!

Thanks Gents

Joe
lablover
lablover

Back to top Go down

RO work, am I going to far? Empty Re: RO work, am I going to far?

Post by Astroimage2002 Sun Aug 16 2015, 21:20

Joe, 

I am surprised that he did not want to redo the slide to frame fit and put an oversized slide stop in it. Did he offer you a 50yd ten shot test target?   

My vote would be to get the trigger done and start shooting it. Open sights, learn the sport and have fun while you decide how to spend your money.

Astroimage2002

Back to top Go down

Post by james r chapman Sun Aug 16 2015, 21:39

First, I'd get a good idea of how it currently shoots.

Actually, sounds reasonable to me, given the individual cost of the components you listed.