Alibi procedures revisited

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Alibi procedures revisited

Post by itemize on Tue Dec 22, 2015 2:21 am

In tonight's match I had a misfire in the fourth string of rapid fire. I called for an alibi, and upon inspection it was allowed.

In the alibi string the first shot misfired, so there were no additional holes put on the target.

Is my scorer looking for 10 shots (in my case - 1 miss) or for 15 shots (6 misses)?

itemize

Posts : 1
Join date : 2015-06-29

Back to top Go down

Re: Alibi procedures revisited

Post by STEVE SAMELAK on Tue Dec 22, 2015 7:59 am

I believe that since no shots went off, you get the full value of the ten you fired.
If one went off & missed the paper that would be another story.
It all revolves around shots FIRED.

STEVE SAMELAK

Posts : 309
Join date : 2011-06-10

Back to top Go down

Re: Alibi procedures revisited

Post by davekp on Tue Dec 22, 2015 8:53 am

I believe it should be scored based on the number of shots fired on the first and second strings plus 5 for the alibi string.

davekp

Posts : 203
Join date : 2011-06-11

Back to top Go down

Re: Alibi procedures revisited

Post by ric1911a1 on Tue Dec 22, 2015 9:31 am

davekp has it correct.

ric1911a1

Posts : 101
Join date : 2013-05-07
Location : Upstate NY

Back to top Go down

Re: Alibi procedures revisited

Post by CR10X on Tue Dec 22, 2015 7:26 pm

The scorer is looking for the number of shots you got off on the first string that you had a malfunction on; plus 10 shots no matter what happens on the refire string or the other string of fire.  If you got 4 shots on the paper during the malfunction (which creates an alibi) string, the scorer is looking for 14 shots.   He will count the holes in the paper and then add misses to get to a total of 14 scores.  He will then begin scoring with the number of misses and then the remaining shots from lowest going up until he has 10 values on the scorecard.  In this case there would be a minimum of 5 misses if all the other shots are in the scoring rings.  

Based on the limited information above (assuming the malfunction string and the refire string had zero shots fired):  The third string has 5 shots on paper and in the scoring rings (5 shots for score) and the 4th string (malfunction string for the alibi) had no shots fired (0 shots for score and allowed) and the refire string had no shots fired (shooter is charged 5 shots for score by the rules); the scorer will be looking for 10 shots and there would be 5 misses on the scorecard. 

CR


Last edited by CR10X on Fri Dec 25, 2015 12:00 pm; edited 2 times in total

CR10X

Posts : 356
Join date : 2011-06-17
Location : NC

Back to top Go down

Re: Alibi procedures revisited

Post by CR10X on Tue Dec 22, 2015 7:32 pm

PS: 

The shots to be scored do not necessarily equate to number of shots fired.  For example, if there was a malfunction on each of the first two strings of fire, and no shots on the alibi string, only the shots fired on the first string count less than 5 shots. The second string and alibi string still counts as five shots each, no matter how many shots the shooter actually fired.  

CR

CR10X

Posts : 356
Join date : 2011-06-17
Location : NC

Back to top Go down

Re: Alibi procedures revisited

Post by Sponsored content Today at 5:06 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum