Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Defective Arm

5 posters

Go down

Defective Arm Empty Defective Arm

Post by StephenL 11/28/2011, 7:42 pm

Hello all,

Let me start by stating, I am a beginner at this sport...

How important is it that my shooting arm be able to be completely straight when extended? I have somewhere between a 10 and 20 degree angle when I extend my arm. The Dr says it is spurs and nothing they can do about it. It seems to completely through off alignment.

Should I consider switching hands?

Thanks.

Stephen

StephenL

Back to top Go down

Defective Arm Empty Re: Defective Arm

Post by Larry Lang 11/29/2011, 12:01 am

Stephen, many shooters have gone to their "weak" hand when they have injured their shooting side. Injuries are both shooting related as well as none. Some are permanent are result in the shooter continuing to shoot with his send choice hand.

Much of shooting is immediately transferable to the opposite hand. Some skills take time. My advice is begin with your hand/arm that does not have limitations.
Larry (WA)
Larry Lang
Larry Lang

Back to top Go down

Post by jakuda 11/29/2011, 12:26 am

You may have increased difficulty in 45acp rapid fire, and your hold may perhaps seem more wobbly (versus extended-straight arm), but your trigger finger will be the worst culprit out of everything.

If you have the dedication and discipline, go to your weak hand. Otherwise, you'll be just fine with your strong side. Dry fire, dry fire, dry fire...

jakuda

Back to top Go down

Post by Founder 11/29/2011, 8:55 am

I injured my wrist in May of this year and have had to switch to my weak hard and Larry is correct a lot of the basics are easy to switch to the other hand.