Why do I keep scraping the coating off my bullets??

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Why do I keep scraping the coating off my bullets??

Post by Laminarman on Sun May 22, 2016 10:34 pm

I am using the .45 RCBS Carbide 3 die set for BE reloading.  I seat with the die provided but do not taper crimp with that, I use a Redding taper crimp die separately to .470.  I am using SNS cast and coated bullets and they shoot best with 3.9 WST out of my STI Trojan.  I'm still pretty new to this.  If I expand the case mouth too much the bullets drops in and are very loose (obviously) and the coatings seems to get scraped off.  If I flare it "just right" it is just fine and seats well and no coating comes off.  But about 60% or more of the time, the coating scrapes off and I'm left with a rim of lead colored crud above the case mouth before I taper crimp.  This has been there right along but now that I'm paying more attention I'm wondering why I can't eliminate this?  I think due to case length variability and bullet coating variability there are some that the coating gets compromised.  What I do now since I'm becoming anal is taking a razor and scraping that lead line off.  I hope this makes sense.  The bullets work well but getting ready to give up and go back to the drawing board and regular cast lead which doesn't do this.

Laminarman

Back to top Go down

Re: Why do I keep scraping the coating off my bullets??

Post by LenV on Sun May 22, 2016 10:42 pm

Good idea... Smile

" The bullets work well but getting ready to give up and go back to the drawing board and regular cast lead which doesn't do this."

Last edited by OldMaster66 on Mon May 23, 2016 7:42 pm; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : added quote)

LenV

Back to top Go down

Post by Fire Escape on Mon May 23, 2016 8:40 am