Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Pardini SP Bullseye vs Nelson Conversion

+6
joy2shoot
JayhawkNavy02
Magload
mspingeld
Al
estuck
10 posters

Go down

Pardini SP Bullseye vs Nelson Conversion Empty Pardini SP Bullseye vs Nelson Conversion

Post by estuck 2/17/2017, 1:14 pm

I am currently shooting a Pardini SP with Aimpoint Micro dot and Dick Horton 1911 angle grips.. This is a fine pistol with a great trigger and very reliable. However I have very large hands, and it seems I have always been fighting for that consistent comfortable grip.. However my David Sams wadgun with long trigger just seems "natural".. I am considering a Nelson Conversion on a dedicated lower, probably built by a bullseye gunsmith with trigger at #2 to #2.5. I have very little experience with the Nelson. Does anyone have thoughts or advice on the Nelson.. Can I expect the same accuracy and reliability as the Pardini?Thanks for your thoughts.

estuck

Back to top Go down

Pardini SP Bullseye vs Nelson Conversion Empty Re: Pardini SP Bullseye vs Nelson Conversion

Post by Al 2/17/2017, 2:05 pm

I'm fairly new to my Nelson, but have nearly 15 years with 2 Marvel Unit 1's. 

When I Ransom tested the Nelson it gave me 1 1/16" 10 shot groups with my current lot of CCI SV.  Doubtless it would do better with Tenex, or Lapua.  But as most of my shooting is with CCI, it held as good as my Marvels did, allowing for slight variations in different lots.

I have no regrets with my purchase.
Allen

Al

Back to top Go down

Pardini SP Bullseye vs Nelson Conversion Empty Re: Pardini SP Bullseye vs Nelson Conversion

Post by mspingeld 2/17/2017, 2:18 pm

Some of the best shooters use conversions, some use Euro guns like Pardini. Both can do the job. If you're more comfortable with the 1911 format, you'll be in good company in the high master section of the line at Camp Perry.

mspingeld
Admin

Back to top Go down