Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Question for guys using stainless pin tumblers.

+6
Multiracer
USSR
messenger
UtahDave
TAB
zanemoseley
10 posters

Go down

Question for guys using stainless pin tumblers. Empty Question for guys using stainless pin tumblers.

Post by zanemoseley Sun 10 Sep 2017, 12:06 am

I've been using a stainless steel pin tumbler for a few years, it seems to really clean the brass nicely. I use it with tap water, Dawn dish soap and lemishine. The problem I have is after many cleanings the brass comes out of the tumbler more dull, kind of light brown. Not sure if it's my water chemistry or too much lemishine.

I had bought some used brass from a local guy, it had already been cleaned in a regular tumbler and looked fairly shiny but after I decapped the brass and ran it through my SS tumbler it looked awesome. Had it sitting right next to my old brass straight out of the tumbler, got me wondering what happened to my old brass.

zanemoseley

Back to top Go down

Question for guys using stainless pin tumblers. Empty Re: Question for guys using stainless pin tumblers.

Post by TAB Sun 10 Sep 2017, 1:23 am

I use 1 tablespoon of Dawn and 1/4 teaspoon of Lemishine in 1 gallon of tap water. Somewhere I read or heard that when you finish tumbling, it is very important to quickly rinse the brass and to rinse it multiple times. I rinse at least four times or as long as I get any dirty water coming off in the rinse. Do not let brass sit and soak in the dirty water and allow only minimal exposure to air prior to rinsing. Lemishine can be hard on the brass if left to dry on the brass. Don't know if it will discolor the brass.

TAB

Back to top Go down

Question for guys using stainless pin tumblers. Empty Re: Question for guys using stainless pin tumblers.

Post by UtahDave Sun 10 Sep 2017, 2:29 am