Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Looking for help reloading 9mm.

+12
Allgoodhits
SmokinNJokin
Wmvdg123
BE Mike
Carbide
oldsalt444
kidneyboy
S148
Wobbley
bruce martindale
james r chapman
jlow
16 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Looking for help reloading 9mm. Empty Looking for help reloading 9mm.

Post by jlow 1/6/2019, 8:36 pm

First of all, new to the board and I am not a bullseye shooter but I am here because I know you guys can be a wealth of knowledge so I am hoping you can help me.

The gun I am reloading for is a SIG MPX PCC pistol.  This is a semi-auto with an 8” barrel. 

I have over 10 years of experience doing precision reloading but only for centerfire rifles, so a lot of the things we do like annealing, turning necks, etc. do not translate to pistol reloading.  In terms of pistol reloading, I have done many tens of thousands of rounds but they are plinking and not precision ammo.

Currently my load is what I use for my handgun - range pickup brass, Rem 1 ½ primers, 3.2 grain of Tightgroup, COAL 1.147", and 147grain Precision Delta FMJ.  This load shoots reasonable in my PCC i.e 3-4” groups at 50 yards.  What I am hoping is to shrink it down to a consistent 2” group.

Looking at an article from Accurateshooter.com on precision handloading, I realize that I need consistent brass – to that end, I have sorted my brass by headstamp.  Currently using FC since I have a lot of that.

I also see the importance of optimizing taper crimp – to that end, I am using a Hornady adjustable taper crimp die and have done optimizing studies looking at different degree of crimp.

I see the importance of uniform COAL – to that end, I have started to uniform my sized cases using a Lyman case trimmer.  This is where my main question is:

1)      Is trimming brass to consistent COAL a good idea for precision?