Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Swaged vs Cast Bullets

+3
Founder
TF
Tom Jadlos
7 posters

Go down

Swaged vs Cast Bullets Empty Swaged vs Cast Bullets

Post by Tom Jadlos Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:40 pm

I am relatively new to bullseye competition. I competed in 2700 matches this past summer shooting my Model 41 in all the events. I've purchased a Dave Salyer wadgun, Dillon 550, and in the process of buying components (Starline brass, WW primers, Bullseye powder). Is there a difference between swaged and cast bullets as far as leading? I'm trying to decide between buying from Zero (swaged) and Magnus (cast) and would appreciate your comments. I plan on shooting a 200 gr. SWC for both short and long line. Your comments would be appreciated. Thanks
Tom

Tom Jadlos

Back to top Go down

Swaged vs Cast Bullets Empty Re: Swaged vs Cast Bullets

Post by TF Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:43 pm

How about accuracy too?

Is there a difference between cast and swaged bullet accuracy?

TF

Back to top Go down

Post by Founder Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:18 pm

Magnus also offers swaged bullets and they are typically available.

The consistent weight, shape and size of the swaged bullets are favored by most shooters in the Bullseye world. Accuracy will go hand in hand with the consistency of the bullets. There are some good casters out there but in my opinion the swaged are the better option.

YMMV
Founder
Founder

https://www.bullseyeforum.net

Back to top Go down

Post by noylj Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:49 pm

Why do my posts keep getting lost?
1) Swaged bullets are not pure lead and will not lead any more the cast.
2) If you get leading, try a very light tumble lube of Lee Liquid Alox. It adheres to the bullet bearing surface and prevents more if not all leading of bullets that are slightly too small.