Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

new to dot (astigmatism, yay!)

+2
SingleActionAndrew
teason
6 posters

Go down

new to dot (astigmatism, yay!) Empty new to dot (astigmatism, yay!)

Post by teason 1/16/2020, 3:44 pm

New to red dot. And by dot I mean a christmas tree of dots leaning at about 30 degrees, top dot is brighter than the others. With my glasses on, the christmas tree becomes a circular cluster of dots, with the 12:00 dot brighter than the others. Do those of you who see things this way center up the group of dots on the bull, or do you focus on the "lead" brightest dot and put it on the bull? I should also say I'm new to glasses--which I realized I needed to clear up the front sight when shooting irons.

Related, I took a picture with my phone through the tube and can clearly see one nice, round, clearly defined dot. Why do my eyes see the picture of the dot correctly but they see a christmas tree when looking directly through the sight tube?

teason

Back to top Go down

new to dot (astigmatism, yay!) Empty Re: new to dot (astigmatism, yay!)

Post by SingleActionAndrew 1/16/2020, 5:06 pm

The camera doesnt have an astigmatism and the phone display is made up of so many tiny points and with lower intensity that I don't think our eyes would be able to perceive a similar starbust/smear
SingleActionAndrew
SingleActionAndrew

Back to top Go down

Post by James Hensler 1/16/2020, 8:23 pm

Don’t freak out a lot of us have this condition! Go to EBay and search Eye Pal and spend 20 bucks for the 2 pack for pistols and enjoy your perfectly clear dot
James Hensler
James Hensler

Back to top Go down

Post by teason 1/17/2020, 8:24 am

thanks, i’ll give it a try.

teason

Back to top Go down

Post by David R 1/17/2020, 9:17 am

Can you turn the brightness down?   If the dot is translucent and you can see through it, its much  "rounder"  Smile

David
David R
David R