Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Buying processed brass.

+8
JayhawkNavy02
Allen Barnett
CraigB5940
James Hensler
Wobbley
Jon Eulette
STEVE SAMELAK
hengehold
12 posters

Go down

Buying processed brass.  Empty Buying processed brass.

Post by hengehold Fri Mar 20, 2020 12:33 pm

I would like to buy fully processed pistol brass for reloading my 9 mm bull’s-eye pistol. I will be using this primarily for 25 yard practice but would be nice to have good enough quality to use in matches out to 50 yards also. I see that there are many vendors available. Can anybody recommend a vendor/vendors that are better than others?

Looks like most of the vendors I have read about offer range brass that is a mixed head stamp. I am new to Bullseye shooting so I am not sure how important it is to have or not have mixed had stamps etc.It seems that using brass from a military contract would be safer than using brass sourced from ranges. Your thoughts?
-TH

hengehold

Back to top Go down

Buying processed brass.  Empty Re: Buying processed brass.

Post by STEVE SAMELAK Fri Mar 20, 2020 12:43 pm

STAR

Mixed brass = mixed results.....when you take me out of the picture.
STEVE SAMELAK
STEVE SAMELAK

Back to top Go down

Post by Guest Fri Mar 20, 2020 12:54 pm

I don't know how much you are expecting to pay for range brass, but at the ranges I use 9mm is by far the most abundant and the majority of casual shooters buy cheap factory ammo and just blast away, so most of it is once fired. OK, you would have to process it, but it is free!

Several other options:- 
Buy new Starline brass, most serious folks reckon it it the best and will last for many reloads.
Buy a top quality target load and recycle their brass - Atlanta Arms is good.
Buy Winchester White Box and use it for practise then re-cycle, certainly good enough for several reloads.