Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Storing Powder and Primers

+5
BE Mike
lablover
USSR
James Hensler
SonOfSwede
9 posters

Go down

Storing Powder and Primers Empty Storing Powder and Primers

Post by SonOfSwede 9/8/2020, 8:40 am

I am new to reloading.  I purchased my first press and set it up yesterday.  

I now have a question about how people store powder and primers.  I am limited to storing in the basement or garage in that we do not have an out building.

I am wondering if other people store in a safe, open on a shelf or something else.  I am thinking about the powder/primers starting a fire.  Or what happens if we do have a house fire.  It would seem to me that if these are stored in a safe and the house was to have a fire, the safe would become a very large pipe bomb.

SonOfSwede

Back to top Go down

Storing Powder and Primers Empty Re: Storing Powder and Primers

Post by James Hensler 9/8/2020, 8:45 am

Open shelf here! 
Only thing I do is when I buy 4 to 8 lbs I use an empty 1lb bottle and refill it from the bigger one. That way the bigger one says airtight linger and fresher
James Hensler
James Hensler

Plunker likes this post

Back to top Go down

Post by USSR 9/8/2020, 8:52 am

It would seem to me that if these are stored in a safe and the house was to have a fire, the safe would become a very large pipe bomb.

Right you are, so store on an open shelf.   Also, store your primers and powders separately.

Don
USSR
USSR

Back to top Go down

Post by lablover 9/8/2020, 8:53 am

Storing powder and primers in a safe is a bad idea.  Big bomb!  Unless it’s designed for powder then I’d say no.

I store my primers in a wooden cabinet that can breath and powder has its own closet in the house.
lablover
lablover

1joel1 likes this post

Back to top Go down

Post by BE Mike 9/8/2020, 9:13 am