Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Remove front sight when using optics?

Go down

Remove front sight when using optics? Empty Remove front sight when using optics?

Post by corsara on 9/14/2020, 2:27 pm

Hello - I'm a bullseye newbie from Canada Smile    Just staring with the sport, got a beginner's S&W Victory and will be installing a bunch of upgrades to it, one of which is a red dot (Sig Romeo5).  My question is if it is a standard practice to remove the front sight since it won't be used, or leave it on?   Is it a matter of personal choice, or there is something else I might be forgetting (e.g. barrel vibration, etc.).   Pls educate me, thanks in advance!

corsara

Back to top Go down

Remove front sight when using optics? Empty Re: Remove front sight when using optics?

Post by james r chapman on 9/14/2020, 2:30 pm

Always need a can opener.
Leave it on if it doesn’t interfere with the dot.
james r chapman
james r chapman
Admin

corsara likes this post

Back to top Go down

Remove front sight when using optics? Empty Re: Remove front sight when using optics?

Post by John Dervis on 9/14/2020, 3:54 pm

I would say most will leave it on for no other reason than it is work to remove it.  I like to leave stuff like that in place in case I want to return the gun to original and I don't want to hunt around for where I put the parts.  I'm with Jim so if it's not distracting to you when looking through the dot, go ahead and leave it in place. 

John.

PS - Welcome to the forum.

John Dervis

corsara likes this post

Back to top Go down

Post by -TT- on 9/14/2020, 4:30 pm