Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Need Help With Flinching

+17
jwax
bobbethune
mikemyers
Lightfoot
chopper
sharkdoctor
SingleActionAndrew
Texasref
thessler
TureB
Slamfire
CR10X
TomH_pa
Vociferous
SteveT
DA/SA
RCJG228
21 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Need Help With Flinching Empty Need Help With Flinching

Post by RCJG228 Thu Feb 18, 2021 11:09 am

I am 68, and relatively new to Bullseye competition, I have been participating for about 3 years. My problem is with centerfire. I anticipate the recoil, and always flinch before I get the shot off, causing me to miss the target more often than not.

I can and do practice dry firing, and when I do, my dot doesn’t move from my point of aim and there is no flinching. As soon as I insert a loaded magazine, my brain knows the gun is going to go boom, causing me to flinch.

I have tried inserting snap caps when I am practicing with live rounds, but that only confirms what I already know…that I am flinching. It is very frustrating, and some nights I will only shoot my .22. I don’t have the flinching problem when shooting my .22, only centerfire.

I am shooting a Colt .45 that was worked on by John Giles, I got it from an old Bullseye shooter. My friend who is an accomplished shooter, has shot it and says the break is nice & clean.

I am currently shooting a 185 gr bullet, with 3.5 grains of Bullseye powder, so I know I am not shooting a “hot” load, adding to the anticipation of a strong recoil.

Has anyone experienced the same problem I do, and how did you overcome it?

Last edited by RCJG228 on Sat Mar 06, 2021 11:54 am; edited 2 times in total

RCJG228

Back to top Go down

Need Help With Flinching Empty Re: Need Help With Flinching

Post by DA/SA Thu Feb 18, 2021 11:13 am

While I don't have an answer... this may be something to look over.

https://www.bullseyeforum.net/t16248-flinching