Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Service Pistol advise

+17
WSR32
Soupy44
TargetPistolGuy
Merick
Wlw145s
Jon Eulette
jglenn21
orpheoet
CR10X
Allgoodhits
RoyDean
Wobbley
Deerspy
SmokinNJokin
chiz1180
Froneck
UnGe
21 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Service Pistol advise Empty Service Pistol advise

Post by UnGe 4/11/2022, 12:36 pm

I am pretty new to anything above .22, and wanted to try something bigger, starting with CMP EIC (not really ready for going 2700 with current ammo prices and no desire to do reloading yet).
What would be a good beginner service pistol for a .22 SS? Based on factory ammo prices, probably 9mm, but I am open to other options.
I'd like to try something least expensive but still decent (mostly - more or less decent trigger out of the box, and adjustable sights)
Any advise?

UnGe

Back to top Go down

Service Pistol advise Empty Re: Service Pistol advise

Post by Froneck 4/11/2022, 1:39 pm

Best gun for the new shooter will be the 1911 in 45ACP! Eventually you will have to shoot the .45 so start with it. 9mm gives you no advantage now that Service Pistol allows any jacketed round whereby it was 230gr full power (Military Ball) ammo. Simply put if you intend to shoot Service Pistol and I assume want to become Distinguished then start Reloading NOW! My choice would be a Dillon 550, probably can be found used. I had one and loved it, gave me great service for years and miss it since my son "borrowed" it. I have the 650 now with the case feeder, works great but is a pain to use if working-up a load. Otherwise the 650 reloads a lot of .45 ammo very fast. It's now a 750, I don't think the 650 is available any more from Dillon.
 For those that are looking to shoot service pistol and have a 1911 .45ACP then the 1911 in 9mm is a good choice. It's better than the 9mm Beretta!

Froneck

Back to top Go down

Post by chiz1180 4/11/2022, 3:27 pm