Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Course of fire questions

+4
STEVE SAMELAK
mspingeld
james r chapman
mutley
8 posters

Go down

Course of fire questions Empty Course of fire questions

Post by mutley 7/3/2022, 5:26 pm

I'm new to bullseye and I've only shot in a couple sanctioned NRA matches so far.  I'm trying to understand the design and thought behind the course of fire.

If you break down each 900 segment, the course of fire is (and tell me if I'm mistaken) the following, with the BOLDED considered the "National Match" portion...

Stage Distance    # rounds
Slow         50 Yds 10
Slow         50 Yds 10
Slow 50 Yds  10
Timed 25 Yds  5 (x2)
Rapid 25 Yds  5 (x2)
Timed 25 Yds 5 (x2)
Timed 25 Yds 5 (x2)
Rapid 25 Yds 5 (x2)
Rapid 25 Yds 5 (x2)

So my question is... why even differentiate the "National Match" part of the course of fire?  Is there a reason that is done?  Wouldn't it make more sense to just shoot 3 stages Slow, 3 stages Timed, and 3 stages Rapid in that order?

I guess it doesn't really matter but it just seems odd to me and not intuitive.  

My other question, is this the same course of fire shot in CMP matches?  Is the difference in CMP and NRA matches mostly to do with ammo and equipment?

I am reading the rule books for each but there's just a lot to take in.

mutley

Back to top Go down

Course of fire questions Empty Re: Course of fire questions

Post by james r chapman 7/3/2022, 5:44 pm

Because, each section is its own match.

SF 200 pts
NMC 300 pts
TF 200 pts
RF 200 pts

RF,CF,.45 matches 900 pts each
Aggregate 2700 pts
Yes, basically the same rules with minor tweaks
james r chapman
james r chapman
Admin

Back to top Go down

Post by mspingeld 7/3/2022, 5:50 pm

Also, in bigger events there may be team matches. Sometimes they're fired matches, sometimes they use your NMC score.

mspingeld
Admin

Back to top Go down

Post by STEVE SAMELAK 7/3/2022, 6:19 pm