Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New guy trying to load for Bullseye

+5
Rob Kovach
james r chapman
farmboy
SSgtG
71firebird400
9 posters

Go down

New guy trying to load for Bullseye Empty New guy trying to load for Bullseye

Post by 71firebird400 5/17/2014, 12:18 am

Hi all, 

I am new to Bullseye and trying to master the art of reloading accurate 45 ammunition. I have been reloading for F-Class rifle for a number of years so the principles of accurate ammo are instilled in me, but obviously loading for pistols is a bit different. I am using a progressive press (Hornady LNL AP) that has been operating great. I am currently loading Zero 185gr JHP bullets, but intend on changing to a 200gr LSWC at some point to cut down on cost. I do not have very much experience loading lead bullets so that is an area I have a lot to learn. This is my current die setup-

Redding Sizer
Redding Expander
Powder Measure
RCBS Lockout Die
Redding Bullet Seater/Taper Crimp Die

Right off the bat I know I need to do away with the combination seater/crimp die and run these two operations in different positions.  However, in doing so I lose the ability to use the RCBS lockout die which concerns me a bit considering the small charges being used. Here are a couple questions to get the conversation started, but please throw in any general advice that comes to mind.

1. I have read that if I load lead bullets I would be advised to use a Lyman two step M expander die; is this necessary?
2. I would very much like to be able to expand on my powder measure using the PTX universal expander as I could then leave my RCBS lockout die in the rotation. However, in my reading, this expander will only flare the case mouth and not "expand" the case- thus it is not suitable for lead bullets. Is there any truth to this?