Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

9mm Barrel Twist Thoughts/Questions

+10
9146gt
GrumpyOldMan
Pat Nemes
kwixdraw
LenV
Axehandle
jmdavis
Jerry Keefer
dronning
Dr.Don
14 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

9mm Barrel Twist Thoughts/Questions Empty 9mm Barrel Twist Thoughts/Questions

Post by Dr.Don 10/20/2014, 4:32 pm

I'm not a professional gunsmith.  But I enjoy both shooting and tinkering with guns.  Over the years I have built a half-dozen or so wadguns that were accurate, reliable, and had fairly decent triggers.  Since I have a small machine shop I have also built a number of jigs and special tools that facilitate some of the jobs, such as barrel fitting and trigger work.  I've concentrated on accuracy and feel especially gratified when a gun I have built shows good accuracy.  Recently I have been considering playing with 9mm on the 1911 platform; not so much as a bullseye centerfire gun but just to see if I can build an accurate one.  Along that line I have had some thoughts and done some calculations (I'm an engineer but not a ballistician) on 9mm barrels.  Anyone is welcome to chime in here, but I'd especially welcome the thoughts of Jerry, K.C. and others who have struggled with the 9mm accuracy problem.