Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Slabs vs Target grips

+2
dronning
mspingeld
6 posters

Go down

Slabs vs Target grips Empty Slabs vs Target grips

Post by mspingeld Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:02 am

So, I've been shooting for a few years, currently mid-expert level. Both my 22 and 45 have Dick Horton custom grips. They allow me to grip the gun exactly the same each time and when I raise the gun, the dot is right there in the middle. It seems many of the high masters use target grips on their 22 and slabs on the 45. Wondering why?

mspingeld
Admin

Back to top Go down

Slabs vs Target grips Empty Re: Slabs vs Target grips

Post by dronning Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:51 am

While I could get a very consistent grip my recoil recovery was not as good, and my wrist had to turn slightly verses a slab side, which over time I believe would have caused me problems.  I also have tried an arched mainspring housing it was way more comfortable than a flat one but I shoot the flat one better.  That's what works for me.

- Dave
dronning
dronning

Back to top Go down

Post by Axehandle Sun Jan 29, 2017 8:30 am

I shot slabs forever because of the Service Pistol requirement of the military teams and the urgency to win that Distinguished badge.   Tried the target grips and never like them.  FWIW if you have target grips that make you turn your wrist in the slightest it is time to get out the rasp and modify the shape.

Axehandle

Back to top Go down

Post by dronning Sun Jan 29, 2017 8:36 am

Axehandle wrote:FWIW if you have target grips that make you turn your wrist in the slightest it is time to get out the rasp and modify the shape.

But then I end up with very expensive slabs!!  LOL

- Dave
dronning
dronning

Back to top Go down

Post by Axehandle Sun Jan 29, 2017 9:25 am