Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

22 and 45 gun issues

+2
mikemyers
tyro
6 posters

Go down

22 and 45 gun issues Empty 22 and 45 gun issues

Post by tyro 5/4/2018, 8:00 pm

hi i am new to bullseye shooting. i picked up a s&w 41and 1911 45. 6 months of fte ftf stovepipes failure to pick up new round. i scoured this forum looking for answers, and followed all advice given. all winter going to range to see if guns would work. today practice no gun problems. thank you for posting fixes. i learned. s&w 41 clean chamber 25 cal brush,use cci std,new recoil spring, polish spring guide rod. 1911 45 . use locktite on scope frame mount (went loose during match ) gunsmith put in kart barrel and would not go 40 rounds and not fully chamber, chamber got all fouled up. called fred kart he said send barrel and sample ammo (no primer or power) he said hood too short rebored chamber and throat (fixed chamber ) also my ammo had lead burr on tip, i seat and crimp one operation, fred said to  try separate seating and crimping. thank you fred kart for your help. guns run great now thanks mike

tyro

Back to top Go down

22 and 45 gun issues Empty Re: 22 and 45 gun issues

Post by mikemyers 5/4/2018, 8:26 pm

There are a lot of gems in this thread, of people trying to help me - some of your issues are similar to what I had.  You might want to read the whole thing:
https://www.bullseyeforum.net/t9606-problem-with-reloaded-ammo
mikemyers
mikemyers

Back to top Go down

22 and 45 gun issues Empty lrn or fmj in .22lr

Post by IT1 Wes 5/5/2018, 12:15 am

I have heard that one should shoot lead round-nose in .22lr. It's said that it is more accurate generally than FMJ. It's also said that it fouls the barrel faster. I have been trying each, but apparently, I am not yet accurate enough to tell the difference in ammo accuracy.

Any guidance will be appreciated.
IT1 Wes
IT1 Wes

https://bookspublicdomain.com