Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Cleaning brass

+16
messenger
Wmvdg123
troystaten
WillH
BE Mike
bruce martindale
jglenn21
chopper
apipeguy
farmboy
JIMPGOV
Caster3845
Wobbley
zanemoseley
cdrt
thessler
20 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Cleaning brass Empty Cleaning brass

Post by thessler Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:01 pm

Hi
I'm new to pistol reloading and wondering what to buy regarding cleaning brass.
My choices seem to be a tumbler or an ultrasonic cleaner.
Please advise on best choice. 
Thanks, Tom

thessler

Back to top Go down

Cleaning brass Empty Re: Cleaning brass

Post by cdrt Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:08 pm

A tumbler is probably your best bet.  I have both and use the tumbler more than the other.
BTW Nu-Finish car wax works really well with corn cob or walnut shell media.
cdrt
cdrt

Back to top Go down

Post by zanemoseley Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:14 pm

I like my SS pin tumbler pretty good. It's very efficient at cleaning. My only problem is over time my brass tends to dull in color but is still clean. I used to think I was using too much Lemishine but ive been just using a 45 shells worth of Lemishine in a whole batch and it still seems to be doing it. Perhaps its my water chemistry. I would never want to go with a corn cob vibratory cleaner, if anything I might try ultrasonic at some point.

zanemoseley

Back to top Go down

Post by Wobbley Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:46 pm

Try it with distilled and see if the brass comes out better.
Wobbley
Wobbley
Admin

Back to top Go down

Post by Caster3845 Tue Oct 16, 2018 8:52 pm