Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

S&W model 10

+3
rfmiller
Paper-Puncher
Mark_Trulock
7 posters

Go down

S&W model 10 Empty S&W model 10

Post by Mark_Trulock 10/22/2012, 7:49 am

So our friends at Buds guns have S&W model 10 police trade ins for $269. I've been trying to rationalize buying one for some time now. There is a league in the area that shoots bullseye matches for 45/Revolver/22. I was interested in shooting in the league. I'm still quite new at this and have not shot a revolver much. Should i just focus on the guns that I have or will a revolver help me learn better trigger control?

Thanks

Mark

Mark_Trulock

Back to top Go down

S&W model 10 Empty Re: S&W model 10

Post by Paper-Puncher 10/22/2012, 8:04 am

I could be wrong but the model 10 was built in 3'' and 4'' barrel lenghts and it is a fixed sighted gun with the rear sight being just a notch in the top strap....if the gun matches my description it wont be very useful as a " Bullseye " gun IMHO ....You would be better to find a model 14 used somewhere or a 686 with adjustable sights and a barrel more in the 6'' range....A revolver is a whole different animal ..slow fire is pretty much the same but the timed and rapid portions are much more difficult, timed fire isnt to bad going single action but rapid fire I myself struggle with and have yet to come up with a good method for firing it....SA/DA...either way I run out of time or my shots are all over the place.......

Paper-Puncher

Back to top Go down

Post by Mark_Trulock 10/23/2012, 7:06 am

Paper-Puncher

Thanks for the info, especially about rapid fire, also I forgot about the rear sight being fixed.

Thanks again

Mark

Mark_Trulock

Back to top Go down

Post by rfmiller 10/23/2012, 9:40 am