Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

9 mm reloads - theory (How to...)

+8
jlow
S148
Larry2520
james r chapman
oldsalt444
NuJudge
David R
tfk
12 posters

Go down

9 mm reloads - theory (How to...) Empty 9 mm reloads - theory (How to...)

Post by tfk 3/16/2019, 9:33 am

Hello,
I am new to this forum. I've been reloading for three years now. Only 9x19. I am from Europe, where the gun culture is very weak compared to the USA, so even the valuable info about making accurate handload cannot be found easily. I have many questions about reloading for accuracy and I don't want to try to reinvent the wheel. You guys have been there, done that. So I would really appreciate, if you would be so kind and share your gained knowledge. The components which I can buy here in Europe are different from what you guys mainly use in the USA, so I am looking for common advice rather then exact recipe for 9 mm accurate handload.
I have access to Ransom Rest to test my reloads (we bought one together a month ago with my friend to get our reloading to next level), but I haven't been able to make any really good load yet.

1) How much does primer effect accuracy? (I used to use sellier bellot primers and the velocity was much more consistent that with Fiocchi which I use now, because the SB primers were for a long time out of stock everywhere here; the velocity spread is for about 50% higher with Fiocchi) Do you have some experience that with all the other components being the same, the different primer changed significantly your groups?