Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Cartridge case knurling

5 posters

Go down

Cartridge case knurling Empty Cartridge case knurling

Post by guninhand 11/30/2012, 5:41 pm

Hi folks. I'm just getting into Bullesye intricasies and am striving for consistency in my .38 special ammo. I notice differences in the cases even from the same brand name, with no knurling, one knurl band about 1/5 down the case from the case mouth, others with 2 distinct knurls midway. Some of these bands aren't knurled but crimped in. Does it matter if these features are mixed together in my match ammo or is there any advantage to segregating them? I'm using a Dillon 550 and Dillon dies.

guninhand

Back to top Go down

Cartridge case knurling Empty Re: Cartridge case knurling

Post by AllAces 11/30/2012, 6:59 pm

I use many different head stamps and see no difference in my 38 DR loads.
AllAces
AllAces

Back to top Go down

Post by C.Perkins 11/30/2012, 8:51 pm

It could matter with what bullet you load and what type of handgun you are using.

If it is a model 52, then these are my questions.

If a revolver, not so much.

Clarence
C.Perkins
C.Perkins

Back to top Go down

Post by guninhand 11/30/2012, 9:37 pm

The bullet is a .358 148gr swaged hollow base wad cutter in a S&W 14-3. I use a Lyman M die and crimp is 0.364.

guninhand

Back to top Go down

Post by Larry Lang 12/1/2012, 11:14 am

I use Rem 148g HBWC w/R-P cases. They are the thinnest wall among the available and deform the bullet less. I don't resize, I bell enough so that the bullet will set into the case mouth and I crimp using a Lee factory crimp die. These feed and shoot well in my 1911 .38 SPL.
Larry Lang
Larry Lang

Back to top Go down

Post by guninhand 12/1/2012, 2:40 pm

I never thought of not sizing at all. I'll make a test batch and see what happens.

guninhand

Back to top Go down

Post by noylj 12/1/2012, 10:59 pm