Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Tell Me Your Dillon XL650 Tips and Tricks

+10
jglenn21
Jack H
PhotoEscape
chopper
BE Mike
lablover
JIMPGOV
Wobbley
TomH_pa
SteveT
14 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Tell Me Your Dillon XL650 Tips and Tricks Empty Tell Me Your Dillon XL650 Tips and Tricks

Post by SteveT 9/2/2019, 11:42 am

I'm setting up a Dillon XL650 and finding it much more troublesome than my old Square Deal B. I would welcome any help you guys have learned about using them, tips, tricks, hacks, valuable accessories etc.

I've been using a Dillon Square Deal B for nearly 20 years, probably have loaded in the neighborhood of 100k 45ACP  plus some 38, 9mm and 40. I know that machine's idiosyncrasies and find it very easy to change calibers and make adjustments. 

I got the XL650 used from a shooter who has passed. He used it up until last year. It is complete. I disassembled it as little as possible from his loading bench and set it up on mine,  but I can't ask him questions. It came stock including the case feeder with Dillon dies and powder measure. I had lots of problems with the powder measure (inconsistent charges, leaking powder all over the place). I couldn't find any worn or missing parts or anything out of alignment. I didn't want to take the time to mail it to Dillon, so I bought the Hornady case activated meter. It's working great with < 0.1gr variability using VV N310. I replaced the powder check with a Lee universal expander and the machine appears to be working well. I loaded my first ~100 complete rounds yesterday and will test them before loading more, but they look good.

I find the XL650 more difficult to adjust and the case feeder and primer feeder keep getting in the way. I'm considering adding Uniquetek's primer feed stop and case feed stop. I adapted my Inline Fabrication LED light from the SDB so that is better.