Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

.32 S&W-L primer pierces in GSP

+2
zanemoseley
NuJudge
6 posters

Go down

.32 S&W-L primer pierces in GSP Empty .32 S&W-L primer pierces in GSP

Post by NuJudge 11/15/2019, 3:51 pm

I am new to loading the .32 S&W-Long with HBWC and 1.7gr of Bullseye.  I have fired several hundred rounds of S&B factory ammo through my GSP with no issues and excellent accuracy at 50 feet.  I loaded a small batch of about 50 rounds using the techniques I learned here using some 30-year old Remington small pistol primers I got from my father, getting excellent accuracy and no problems.  I loaded another batch and tried them today.  Looking at the fired cases, about one in five seem to have pierced, leaving black down in the indent.  

I've done a lot of hand loading for Service Rifle, and there a primer pierce is a big deal.  I'm assuming it is a problem here.  I presume I should disassemble the pistol and examine the firing pin tip for roughness.  In Service Rifle, if the tip looked rough, I replace the firing pin, but some talk of smoothing it with mild abrasive.   I believe I will throw away the rest of that small batch of primers. 

I have a spare .32 GSP firing pin.  

How should I proceed?

NuJudge

Back to top Go down

.32 S&W-L primer pierces in GSP Empty Re: .32 S&W-L primer pierces in GSP

Post by zanemoseley 11/15/2019, 4:20 pm

Try a batch of new CCI primers. I use CCI amd 1.8 bullseye under a 98 grain wadcutter in my GSP with no issues. If you're still getting blown primers look at the firing pin and possibly the firing pin hole diameter in the breach face.

zanemoseley

Back to top Go down

Post by S148 11/15/2019, 6:43 pm

I'd try the CCI primers, too.