Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Volquartzen rear sight disappointment

+2
james r chapman
brooksharris
6 posters

Go down

Volquartzen rear sight disappointment Empty Volquartzen rear sight disappointment

Post by brooksharris 11/27/2019, 10:40 am

I am new to bullseye pistol shooting but do thoroughly understand sight alignment as I'm distinguished in service rifle and smallbore.
With a scope and from a rest my Ruger Mk II slabside is more accurate than I thought a pistol could be.  I ordered a Volquartzen rear sight
based on the positive reviews I had read.  However I find it unusable because the notch is too shallow at .062".  Other sight notch depths I have measured are as follows:  original Ruger Mk II sight is .0785; Les Baer is .095; Dan Wesson Valor is .1145; Kimber Custom Shop is .1155; S&W revolver is .075; and GP 100 Ruger is .077.  The only handgun I own with a shallower rear sight notch is my 1945 vintage US Property Colt 1911.

It's not possible to file the notch deeper because the bottom of the notch is in line with the base of the sight; i.e., to file deeper would cut into the
elevation screw of the base.  I have contacted Volquartzen several times and they have replied, but I have been told it would be "cost prohibitive" for them to make one rear sight blade for me that would allow for a deeper notch.  (I'm not sure how they know what I would consider "cost prohibitive".

Under perfect light and from a rest this sight would allow for accurate slow fire shots.  But offhand, much less timed or rapid, it is not possible to reaquire  sight alignment.  So I'm stuck with a well made sight that I cannot use.  Do any of you have a suggestion as to how I might make this sight usable with a deeper notch?
Happy Thanksgiving and blessings to you and yours!

brooksharris

Back to top Go down

Volquartzen rear sight disappointment Empty Re: Volquartzen rear sight disappointment