Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A basic red dot question

+4
DA/SA
Wobbley
SonOfAGun
RuckusD
8 posters

Go down

A basic red dot question Empty A basic red dot question

Post by RuckusD 10/5/2022, 9:34 am

I'm new to Bullseye and I'm trying to understand the difference between "reflex" and "tube type" red dot sights.   I think I understand the optical principles of a reflex red dot sight, but I can't find a clear answer on the optical principles of the tube type sights.  Even the manufacturers' web sites don't have it.  Is there some source of a description of the differences?

FWIW, it's clear that my ability to shoot well does not depend on knowing this answer, but I still want to know.

RuckusD

Back to top Go down

A basic red dot question Empty Re: A basic red dot question

Post by SonOfAGun 10/5/2022, 11:09 am

RuckusD wrote:...optical principles of the tube type sights. 

Try this:

https://www.bullseyepistol.com/dotsight.htm

That being said, any technology sufficiently advanced (or not understood) is indistinguishable from magic. (apologies to Arthur C. Clarke)
SonOfAGun
SonOfAGun

Back to top Go down

Post by Wobbley 10/5/2022, 11:16 am

The significant difference is that the tube type is fully enclosed.  Parallax MIGHT be better in a tube type, but that is driven by quality of the construction for either type.  I use both.
Wobbley
Wobbley
Admin

Back to top Go down

A basic red dot question Empty Thanks

Post by RuckusD 10/5/2022, 11:45 am

Thanks for the link.  If I understand the diagram in the article correctly, a tube type red dot scope is a reflex red dot scope with a tube on the front and back.  That's simple.  I read too many bad articles that implied that open and tube type red dots were fundamentally different. 

Now I'll get back to something useful like practicing trigger control.

RuckusD

Back to top Go down

Post by DA/SA 10/5/2022, 11:55 am