Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Brazos Bullets 9mm all Fail Plunk Test

+4
chiz1180
Jon Eulette
Greg Walloch
Orion
8 posters

Go down

Brazos Bullets 9mm all Fail Plunk Test Empty Brazos Bullets 9mm all Fail Plunk Test

Post by Orion 11/12/2022, 11:52 am

Everyone of these Brazos 0.356" bullets in a completed round have failed the plunk test and gauge checker (EGW) test, but one single round. I'm using a KKM 1:32 barrel. I purchased a 1,000 of the 9mm 115gr Round Nose/Bevel Base/No Groove Hi-Tek rounds. 

I substituted this 0.356 hi-tek bullet with cheap-o bullets from a remanufactured round. These all work fine. Is it possible its the hi-tek coating or the 0.356" size vs the 0.355"?

Has anyone experienced this before? I'm fairly new to reloading.
Orion
Orion

https://www.linkedin.com/in/oriondarley/

Back to top Go down

Brazos Bullets 9mm all Fail Plunk Test Empty Re: Brazos Bullets 9mm all Fail Plunk Test

Post by Greg Walloch 11/12/2022, 12:14 pm

Can you show us a loaded round?  I use that bullet in that barrel.  What kind of brass?  What’s your crimp?

Greg Walloch

Back to top Go down

Brazos Bullets 9mm all Fail Plunk Test Empty Re: Brazos Bullets 9mm all Fail Plunk Test

Post by Jon Eulette 11/12/2022, 12:19 pm

Who built the gun? If it’s a Sams his chambers have short lead for his recommended jacketed bullet.
Jon
Jon Eulette
Jon Eulette

Back to top Go down

Post by chiz1180 11/12/2022, 2:44 pm

EGW also has two different 9mm chamber check gauges dependent on bullet profile, using your barrel is probably a better bet as KKM barrels require final chambering when fit.
chiz1180
chiz1180

Back to top Go down

Post by Jon Eulette 11/12/2022, 3:44 pm

KKM comes short chambered by about 0.100”. -0.150”.