Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Trimming 32 ACP

+7
James Hensler
WesG
straybrit
Wobbley
weber1b
PMcfall
Shootin
11 posters

Go down

Trimming 32 ACP Empty Trimming 32 ACP

Post by Shootin 1/11/2023, 9:59 am

Good morning. I have been mainly a rifle competitor, but slowly getting more interested in pistol shooting and bought a Pardini 32 ACP with some Starline brass. I have plenty of experience reloading for rifle, but not much pistol. The new Starline is right between the trim to length and max length. If this was rifle brass, I wouldn’t trim to “trim length” because the brass will shrink after first firing, then it would be under length. I guess what I am asking, do you recommend trimming it to “trim length”, or leave it a little over?  Also, sized brass won’t fit trimmer pilot?  Should I expand before trimming or just sand down pilot diameter?  Thanks for any help in advance.  (I tried search and couldn’t really find what I was looking for.)

Shootin

Back to top Go down

Trimming 32 ACP Empty Re: Trimming 32 ACP

Post by PMcfall 1/11/2023, 2:10 pm

I know absoluetly nothing about 32 acp except I think it is a straight wall case.  Straight wall cases tend to get shorter with firing so I don't think you need to waste your time trimming to length unless they are too long to chamber.
Phil
PMcfall
PMcfall

Back to top Go down

Post by weber1b 1/11/2023, 3:54 pm

No one I know of trims pistol cases. It is widely considered irrelevant for pistol. As much as I load if I had to trim them, I might not keep shooting this sport.

weber1b

Back to top Go down

Post by Wobbley 1/11/2023, 4:30 pm

In a word No! Do not trim your brass.  It will likely never require trimming for the reasons previously described being a “straight wall” case.  The 32s (ACP and S&W Long) are finicky enough to load without adding the complexity of trimming.
Wobbley
Wobbley
Admin

Back to top Go down