Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Front Sight Focus

+4
Al
SteveT
xmastershooter
SingleActionAndrew
8 posters

Go down

Front Sight Focus Empty Front Sight Focus

Post by xmastershooter Mon Jan 30, 2023 8:59 pm

I've been contributing as a vision consultant for about 20 years now, starting with the original Bullseye-L.  My reward has been receiving thanks from list members who put my suggestions into practice.  My first couple of "thanks" were from a shooter in Washington and North Carolina, both who are members of this forum.  Neither shooter used a +0.75 diopter add over their RX.  I have never solicited for business and declined endorsing products so there were never any financial gains.

My original article on shooting and vision may be seen in Ed Hall's postings on shooting.  The shooting add best for me at the time of my 2008 article was +0.75 D add.  I recommended trying +0.50, +0.75 and +1.00D as a start.  As the years went by, +0.75D add no longer worked for me.  Seeing the front sight blurred along with the bulllseye blurred did not work for me at all.  I do pride myself as a good listener especially when top shooters such as Brian Zins and Bill Blankenship speak... "Front Sight Focus!"