Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Ruger MK II 6 7/8 GTM to heavy for bullseye ?

+7
Jack H
TJ1911
BE Mike
chiz1180
Jon Eulette
SaraiEsq
Riverchicken
11 posters

Go down

Ruger MK II 6 7/8 GTM to heavy for bullseye ? Empty Ruger MK II 6 7/8 GTM to heavy for bullseye ?

Post by Riverchicken 9/12/2023, 10:40 am

I'm just starting in bullseye shooting. My Ruger Goverment Model has a heavy 6 7/8 barrel. My question is this too heavy a pistol to use for competition ?

Riverchicken

Back to top Go down

Ruger MK II 6 7/8 GTM to heavy for bullseye ? Empty Re: Ruger MK II 6 7/8 GTM to heavy for bullseye ?

Post by SaraiEsq 9/12/2023, 11:02 am

I'm new to this game as well (just over a year in), so take it for what it is worth.  

I have a Mark IV Target pistol which weighs in at 36 oz.  
For a while, I was shooting a Mark I Standard which was heavier than the Mark IV by at least four ounces. (Can't find the specs on baby right now.)

The Mark II Government 6-7/8 weighs in at 46 oz.  Obviously a little heavier but with practice it will become light as a feather.  

I was told a few times that the heavier pistol can be a good thing in the long run, in terms of not heating up, wearing better, and handling recoil better.  This was part of a discussion as to whether to use a 22/45 or a 22/45 lite.  If there is nothing physical preventing you from using the heavier pistol (like a shoulder/arm/wrist issue) then I would think this would be fine in terms of weight.  

Personally, I like having a firearm with heft.  It makes me happy to know I have a pistol in my hand.
SaraiEsq
SaraiEsq

Riverchicken likes this post

Back to top Go down

Ruger MK II 6 7/8 GTM to heavy for bullseye ? Empty Re: Ruger MK II 6 7/8 GTM to heavy for bullseye ?

Post by Jon Eulette 9/12/2023, 11:23 am