Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Boston, MA

+2
Wobbley
john bickar
6 posters

Go down

Boston, MA Empty Boston, MA

Post by Jambat 11/16/2023, 2:58 pm

I'm considering a job opportunity in Boston. I'm not a US citizen so I would be under a work visa.
I've been working and shooting in Texas for a long time a couple years ago and I understand Massachusetts is not as accommodating.

Would a non-citizen resident be allowed to have pistols?
Are air guns regulated also ?

Jambat

Back to top Go down

Boston, MA Empty Re: Boston, MA

Post by Zippy 11/16/2023, 3:47 pm

I live in Mass, I don't know for sure on traditional propellant driven guns (smokeless powder) but I have an acquaintance who is on a green card and was able to get a permit. Here behind the "iron curtain" you need a concealed carry for all pistols and most long guns / shotguns. There is a lower classification card called a FID, allows for purchase of ammo but if you were to get one I'd focus on CCW. 
Air guns are not regulated so that is not a problem. There is a ton of info on NES - https://www.northeastshooters.com/. Issue rates depend upon the town but you should be able to query based upon where you will be living, lets just hope that it is not Boston proper as they are a PITA.
Finally there are lots of gun clubs and many participate in weekly bullseye leagues.

Zippy

Back to top Go down

Post by john bickar 11/16/2023, 4:41 pm

Is the Greater Boston Pistol League still a thing? Many years ago I shot on the Woburn Sportsmen's Association team.
john bickar
john bickar

Back to top Go down

Post by Wobbley 11/16/2023, 7:57 pm