Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Casting your own bullets

5 posters

Go down

Casting your own bullets Empty Casting your own bullets

Post by Rodger Barthlow 3/23/2024, 8:01 pm

I have a question for those of us that cast their own bullets.
I've been casting my own bullets since I started shooting Bullseye. Started out using lead from the 50 yard berm and then I found a supply of wheel weights and now using commercial foundry lead with a hardness of 16.
With wheel weights my bullets ran a little heavy and with foundry allow it runs a little light to right on. Do you see a big difference in accuracy from bullets that range from a few tenths over or under the mold weight?  Commercially cast bullet seem to be all over the place weight wise and is the main reason I still cast my own but have only been shooting my own bullets for local matches and depend on using swaged bullets for important matches.

Any info would be helpful Thanks.
Rodger Barthlow
Rodger Barthlow

Back to top Go down

Casting your own bullets Empty Re: Casting your own bullets

Post by inthebeech 3/24/2024, 8:19 am

I don't cast to obtain any improvement in accuracy Roger.  I only do it because I shoot the 38 Special and there is so much that needs tuning (sizing diameter, lube selection, hardness...)  in order to [b]minimize leading; [/b]features which are often not controllable when you buy your bullets, that I must cast (I've never had a 45 that leaded with anything). When/If I luck out and find an OTS bullet that works just as well, I'll shelve my pot.  But the one time I Ransom Rested my own bullet (Lyman 358311) at fifty yards, it's accuracy equalled both of the other two (Magnus dews and Zero hbwc) commercial 148 grain styles that I tested.  Take it for what it's worth; I think I only fired five groups of six each.
Ed