Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Practice with a purpose?

+9
Rob Kovach
Al
Sa-tevp
Jack H
subsonic
DeweyHales
rfmiller
DavidR
beeser
13 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Practice with a purpose? Empty Practice with a purpose?

Post by beeser Wed Jul 09, 2014 2:51 pm

I'm new to BE and not much more experienced handling guns in general.  I've been working on my shooting techniques and trying to gain enough confidence to begin shooting with our local BE group.  So far, my .22lr is getting fairly accurate and consistent but my .45ACP efforts just plain suck.  I shoot about 3 days a week for about an hour, splitting my time equally between the two above calibers.  Before heading out to the range I try to have a plan or idea on what I want to accomplish or at least work on - practice with a purpose.  So far this is what I've learned, at least recently.  Any comments would be appreciated.

I've found it relatively easy finding improvement in just about every outing with the .22lr.  Once I was able to get some consistent groups I was able to successfully dial in the rear sight to bring the groups closer to the bullseye.  Very satisfying.  I just tried a red dot for the first time this morning and was able to close the groups even tighter.  Still room for improvement but I see some positive results.  One thing I can't figure out though is if I shoot at rest from a bench (just trying to zero in the sights) the groups are different, usually higher, than when shooting standing up.  The distance is the same.  Why would the small change in elevation move the POI?  Also, I found that my shots become erratic after shooting a while.  Does fatigue come into play that much?