Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Spherical Barrel Bushing?

+2
DavidR
scrum derringer
6 posters

Go down

Spherical Barrel Bushing? Empty Spherical Barrel Bushing?

Post by scrum derringer 8/27/2011, 8:52 pm

Hello and pardon my ignorance,

I am new to this sport, only 1 season of an indoor police league, and have really come to enjoy/obsess it. After last years piss poor average of 130, i elected to make an investment into 1911 since they cut bigger holes. I purchased a kimber team match 2 (new) and it appears to be decent. i am aware that it a production gun, however i was thinking could it be improved on with a spherical bushing. Im sure most people would say to have a smith fit one, however i have a limited firearms allowance(which im am happy to even have). Im not even sure if the barrel busshing that came with the gun is just as good? Does anyone use or have experience with them... are they worth it and do they help?

Thanks!
scrum derringer
scrum derringer

Back to top Go down

Spherical Barrel Bushing? Empty Re: Spherical Barrel Bushing?

Post by DavidR 8/28/2011, 8:47 am

Brownells sells a bushing made by Briley, that is a drop in match bushing, you just need to measure the end of the barrel and buy the one that is one thousand (smaller-larger) dont remember which but the instructions for how to measure is listed in the ad. Ive heard great reviews from shooters on this upgrade.

http://www.brownells.com/.aspx/pid=1828/Product/1911_AUTO_SPHERICAL_BUSHING
DavidR
DavidR
Admin

Back to top Go down

Post by STEVE SAMELAK 8/28/2011, 9:44 pm

I think that it would be a better course to find out if & what might be wrong before spending good ammo money on repairs that may not need being made, There must be someone in the leagues you shoot in who can help you evaluate your pistol's accuracy before you start chasing points with your checkbook instead of range time.

steve
STEVE SAMELAK