Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Usmcpistolteam work book question

5 posters

Go down

Usmcpistolteam work book question  Empty Usmcpistolteam work book question

Post by thessler 5/30/2018, 5:46 am

Hi
I am new to bullseye shooting,  practicing alot.
I thought I would try to go through the usmc work book and am already confused before the first exercise. 
Shoot at blank target.  In the definition it says use a six o'clock hold, I use iron sights so I normally use a six o'clock hold but where do I aim. If I aim at the bottom edge of the paper theoretically 50% of my shots would go below. If I just aim some where in the middle how could I get a group. I'm sure I'm over thinking this. Could someone please explain the proper procedure for this exercise. 
Thank you, Tom 

thessler

Back to top Go down

Usmcpistolteam work book question  Empty Re: Usmcpistolteam work book question

Post by Dcforman 5/30/2018, 6:03 am

If you use a 6 o'clock hold on a bull, your sights should place the bullet in the middle of the bullseye, or ~ a couple inches up from your aiming point. So if you aim at the bottom of the paper, your shots should be a couple inches up, all on the paper. That being said, when shooting at a blank target with irons, I just sort of aim for the middle.

Dave

Dcforman

Back to top Go down

Post by thessler 5/30/2018, 6:31 am

OK thanks Dave 
I was pretty sure I was over thinking this.
Tom

thessler

Back to top Go down

Post by CR10X 5/30/2018, 6:44 am

First, for bullseye do not "aim" at anything.  Find an Area of Aim your are comfortable with so you can complete the trigger press while in that area and your wobble is getting smaller.  If your wobble area starts getting larger, then the best time has passed, so start over.