Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

45 ACP bullet weight Powder charge weight variations

+4
BE Mike
Wobbley
Chris Miceli
GerhardG
8 posters

Go down

45 ACP bullet weight Powder charge weight variations Empty 45 ACP bullet weight Powder charge weight variations

Post by GerhardG Fri Sep 07, 2018 11:13 pm

Hi fellow enthusiasts,  I am new to Bullseye and below is not what I would be using anyway, but I enjoy shooting my 44 mag and I noticed some of the same variations in load data as in 45 ACP.
Just for fun, I was wondering about actual powder charge limits.
The Alliant reloading chart shows the following;
200-gr Speer LSWC Unique 5.4 gr max for 790fps
200-gr Speer GDHP Unique 7.3 gr max for 984fps
Oregon Laser cast Standard load
200-gr  Oregon LSCW Unique start 5.0 gr 713fps to a max 6.4 gr for 879fps.
Oregon Laser cast 

I believe the LSWC by Speer is softer than the Oregon Laser cast 200 gr. LSWC which I understand is supposed to be a harder lead. 

My question is can I ignore some of the powder charge load limits and assume a powder load range to be 5 gr start to 7.3 gr max?

PS I believe X-Rings are worth more than Nose rings. Very Happy

GerhardG

Back to top Go down

45 ACP bullet weight Powder charge weight variations Empty Re: 45 ACP bullet weight Powder charge weight variations

Post by Chris Miceli Fri Sep 07, 2018 11:15 pm

Ignore, Bulleseye  loads are below 800fps For jhp lswc I’m sure you’ll see some in the 6-7 ranges

Last edited by Chris Miceli on Sat Sep 08, 2018 12:05 am; edited 1 time in total

Chris Miceli

Back to top Go down

45 ACP bullet weight Powder charge weight variations Empty Re: 45 ACP bullet weight Powder charge weight variations

Post by Wobbley Sat Sep 08, 2018 12:04 am

Gerhard:  The reason the Speer LSWC are kept below 800 is that higher and they are prone to leading.  Harder cast bullets top out at 1100.  YMMV.