Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

How often do you guys fully disassemble and re-assemble your 1911

+4
zanemoseley
DA/SA
cdrt
mikemyers
8 posters

Go down

How often do you guys fully disassemble and re-assemble your 1911 Empty How often do you guys fully disassemble and re-assemble your 1911

Post by mikemyers 1/9/2019, 8:32 am

I guess this is the best place to post this.  I hate to admit it, but even though I've been shooting 1911's since the early 1980's, I have never disassembled one beyond the point of basic cleaning and lubricating.  Do you guys do this once for a season, or more frequently?  I read something about some better shooters who completely rebuild their gun before a match, so they can be sure nothing can go wrong.  

I figure it's time to learn how to do so.  
I watched five or six YouTube videos on how to do it.  
I found one that was easy for me to understand, and seems "easy" to do.

mikemyers
mikemyers

Back to top Go down

How often do you guys fully disassemble and re-assemble your 1911 Empty Re: How often do you guys fully disassemble and re-assemble your 1911

Post by cdrt 1/9/2019, 9:05 am

When I was shooting a lot, I would completely take them down once a year and clean the heck out of them.  Since I've been running matches and not shooting as much, it's every couple of years.
cdrt
cdrt

Back to top Go down

How often do you guys fully disassemble and re-assemble your 1911 Empty Re: How often do you guys fully disassemble and re-assemble your 1911

Post by DA/SA 1/9/2019, 9:21 am

I completely disassemble, clean, inspect, lube, and reassemble all of my regularly shot pistols once a year. 

Field strip, wipe out the goo with a cloth, and re-lube the barrel tube and slide rails about three or four hundred round intervals.

Rebuild prior to a match??  Sounds like a great way to induce a malfunction to me.
DA/SA
DA/SA

Back to top Go down