Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

.22 Standard Velocity vs High Velocity question

+16
Al
adminbot1911
mikemyers
WesG
Dipnet
JayhawkNavy02
KB2MBC
STEVE SAMELAK
fc60
LenV
orpheoet
7tcu
Kp321
BE Mike
NuJudge
StuSegal
20 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

.22 Standard Velocity vs High Velocity question Empty .22 Standard Velocity vs High Velocity question

Post by StuSegal Sat Jun 29, 2019 11:27 am

I'm new to Bullseye, and have been shooting with CCI High Velocity rounds, which seem fine.

One of the other shooters saw my ammo, and advised that I use Standard Velocity instead, so I picked up a couple hundred rounds of CCI Standard, and it works just fine in my pistol.

My question is . . . why is Standard Velocity ammo better for bullseye, and why is it *more* expensive than High Velocity? (I would have thought it would be the other way around.)

StuSegal

Back to top Go down

.22 Standard Velocity vs High Velocity question Empty Re: .22 Standard Velocity vs High Velocity question

Post by NuJudge Sat Jun 29, 2019 1:39 pm

Strange and non-repeatable things happen to airflows just above the speed of sound.  This apparently causes inaccuracy in bullets as they transition downward through the speed of sound.  If you want accurate ammo, amongst other things either stay well above the speed of sound, or start out below it.  High Velocity starts just above the speed of sound.  Standard velocity starts just below the speed of sound.  

One would think that .22 Shorts would cost less than .22 Long Rifle, but that's not the case.  Regarding ammo in general, that which is made in fantastic volume will be cheaper.

NuJudge

Back to top Go down

.22 Standard Velocity vs High Velocity question Empty Re: .22 Standard Velocity vs High Velocity question

Post by BE Mike Sun Jun 30, 2019 6:38 am