Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Trouble with SF:

+5
Dave C.
sixftunda
Jack H
Rob Kovach
Wingshot
9 posters

Go down

Trouble with SF: Empty Trouble with SF:

Post by Wingshot Sat Apr 20, 2013 11:44 pm

I've been shooting 50' rimfire weekly for 4-1/2 months and have improved from my humble beginnings and have been having trouble with my SF scores. I get wild 9-3-4-7 o'clock 4x-5x hits (usually 3-4 in a ten shot string). The thing is that I just recently got set up with a box and a spotting scope and these wild ones are printing on what looked and felt like a good execution. My TF&RF aren't all that bad, in fact, I put more in the black than in SF! I'm right handed, use an Ultra Dot and realize I'm a noob. I do dry fire drills at home but maybe I'm going through the whole process wrong? Thoughts?
Wingshot
Wingshot

Back to top Go down

Trouble with SF: Empty Re: Trouble with SF:

Post by Rob Kovach Sun Apr 21, 2013 12:10 am

sounds like bad trigger placement, and weak wrist or soft grip. Most noobs have the same issue as you. (shooting in the black for TF & RF more than in SF)
See if you can send in a picture of your grip and trigger finger placement.

Don't give up on mastering slow fire. With a slow fire target, you can put them all in the black and it could still be a 70. With a RF/TF target it would be a 90.
Keep watching that dot as the shot breaks. As you keep practicing, I'll bet you will start seeing the dot moving in the direction of the error right before it breaks.
Rob Kovach
Rob Kovach
Admin

Back to top Go down

Post by Jack H Sun Apr 21, 2013 3:18 am

It is pretty hard to have a goal without knowing what the goal is. Do some very careful sandbag and armrest work so you learn to sense the feel and the visual of a good shot process at the gun. Then adjust your goals off the target so much. Don't forget followthru is part of the process.
Jack H
Jack H

Back to top Go down