Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Cataract surgery and shooting glasses

+8
shootingsight
Rob22
REConley
mikemyers
wascanapistol
301bruce
james r chapman
Foundryratjim
12 posters

Go down

Cataract surgery and shooting glasses Empty Cataract surgery and shooting glasses

Post by Foundryratjim Thu Feb 02, 2023 10:43 am

I had been following the thread on shooting glasses and was going to post this there. That thread is now locked so i will start a new one. I have cataracts in both eyes, I just turned 65. I have been shooting in a local bullseye league for over 10 years. I use a red dot (or as I see it a double star burst). Tomorrow I am having the cataract in my left eye removed, a lens put in and my astigmatism corrected. In two weeks I will have the same done to the right eye. They tell me that I shouldn't need glasses for distance. I have been wearing glasses since i was 10 or 12 years old. I would like to hear what others have experienced with having this done. I would also like to know what shooters recommend for good shooting safety glasses that are durable and don't distort your vision. I am not interested in the cheapest available. Thanks

Foundryratjim

Back to top Go down

Cataract surgery and shooting glasses Empty Re: Cataract surgery and shooting glasses

Post by james r chapman Thu Feb 02, 2023 11:11 am

I am 74, had dual cataract surgery in 2005.
I was 20/400 before, 20/15 after. Chose the distance script
Still use readers for close in work.

Many new fangled types available now but for shooting I’d recommend the distance ones.
Never looked back.
james r chapman
james r chapman
Admin

Back to top Go down

Cataract surgery and shooting glasses Empty Re: Cataract surgery and shooting glasses

Post by 301bruce Thu Feb 02, 2023 2:20 pm

I'm 62. Both eyes done 3 years ago. Got distance focus in both eyes.