Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

How low can you go before... DETONATION!?

+7
james r chapman
Tim:H11
oldsalt444
BE Mike
dronning
USSR
10sandxs
11 posters

Go down

How low can you go before... DETONATION!? Empty How low can you go before... DETONATION!?

Post by 10sandxs 8/31/2017, 8:24 am

I've been reloading for over 30 years now and while in my younger days, the push was to faster and hotter loads, once I started competitive shooting, that outlook changed (obviously). I find it a bit ironic that I'm now wondering how slow I can go before bad things start to happen. Do bad things happen at low speed???

On to the question. I purchased a large quantity of vectan BA10 several years ago. At the time, it was a very inexpensive powder and it does very well in short line loads. Recoil is maybe a but snappier but I've grown accustomed to it. That is untill I started loading zero jacketed bullets for long line. It seems to me that they are softer shooting than my short line loads, even at 5 gr of wst. The short line load is 3.0 grains of BA10 and a 185 (ish) h&g130, already under the minimium published load. For kicks, I loaded 10 rounds at 2.5 gr. To my supprise, they cycle my 45 with better than expected ejection. Well, what the heck... lets go to 2.0 grains... while ejection was notably less positive, all ten rounds made it out of the gun and into my brass catcher. Yes, they were VERY soft shooting.

On the way home, I remembered reading an article years ago on "detonation" a proported phenomenon where the powder doesn't burn as it normally does, all powder burns instantly, producing an explosion rather than a smooth burn. It was proported to happen only with fast burning powders in relativly large capicity cases at really light loads... BA10, very fast powder... 45 acp, relativly big case... 2.0 gr BA10, 40% under minimium suggested load... gulp...