Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

gun box build

+9
SteveT
Jack H
JKR
willnewton
farmboy
lablover
tceva
weber1b
SMBeyer
13 posters

Go down

gun box build Empty gun box build

Post by SMBeyer 12/16/2017, 7:43 pm

I know many have seen this on the bullseye facebook group so I'll spare you the cheesy video again but here are some pictures of the final product.

I have been shooting bullseye for about 8 years now and purchased a 4 gun metal Strongcase box when I started.  I always said I wasn't going to build a wood box when I could buy a metal one already made.  After a while I told myself if I was going to build a box it was going to be different than the normal flat sided box.  For years now I have thought about building a raised panel gun box but just never actually put saw to wood and got started.   After a fellow shooter that is a member here that goes by the name Lab Lover built a box it inspired me to finally start on the box I had been thinking about.  After many texts and pictures sent back and forth with Lab Lover I got the shaper fired up and got started.   I recently bought a new set of Freeborn rail/stile/raised panel shaper cutters to make some doors for cabinets and some raised panel wainscot and decided to test them out.

I had all the pieces machined and cut to length and Friday night after dinner got started on my first version.  By 1:30 in the morning I had version 1.0 built out of some beech that had been sitting on the lumber rack for at least 10 years. 

gun box build 53310011

Saturday morning I decided I was ok with the raised panel look so I abandoned the not so great fitting (and heavy) beech box and got started on a new one made out of cherry.  I made some minor changes to rail and stile dimensions but the box size stayed the same.  It measure 18"x10"x16"tall.